valerie

When I was younger, I had a checklist of what I think the ideal the guy would be for me
1. Play the guitar (why? well so he can play mushy songs to me and for me)
2. Romantic (duh)
3. Caring
4. Charming
5. It would be much easier if I just tell you I wanted Disney princes’ characteristics (yes, eye candy is included fo sho’)
Of course, this checklist was also influenced by the oh-so-cheesy-corny teenage chick flicks of that century where the common storyline was :

Once upon a time, there was a girl, who always had geeky/nerdy characteristics, usually smart and pretty (but usually protrayed as ugly). This girl has an annoying sibling, can be older or younger but usually of the opposite sex. She is unpopular due to her geekiness and she usually has her posse of unpopular kids. And there will always be a group of mean girls and of course, the oh-so-gorgeous loverboy. Splash a bit of drama over here, a bit of a broken heart over there and congratulations, you can write your very own teenage chick flick.
hello hollywood!

10 years older (and if I may say so, wiser), I realised that we are all not living in Hollywood nor Disneyland (no shit) and these stories only happen on screen (or 99.99% of the time)
Two people can be the most beautiful people in the world who are the most compatible but if there is no chemistry, it won’t last
What is chemistry?
simply said : mutual attraction.
looks fade, but if it’s real, it’s a ’till death do us apart’ kinda deal
and true feelings will never fade

so cop, what’s the point of this post?
I guess what I’m trying to say is that checklists change/evolve, and having ticks on a checklist is just the very fine tip of the iceberg

there’s so much more to it.
so much more complicated, can’t-be-explained-simply kinda things.
you know how they say you should follow your heart?
I say yes, follow your heart, but you really ought to lead it with your head
and hey, include that gut too
it sure has helped me many times before. 

One thought on “valerie

  1. BIRTHDAY SPAM#5: I wish, fully truly wish that when you fall in love, you'll fall in love for real for real(yes I said that twice), and with someone who deserves you. As a friend, I am imposing high standards, I expect only the best For Kelly Zuckefli!

    *Party-poppers* POP!

    Like

Leave a Reply

